Diaper rash spray

I have no idea what is up with Sprout, but he has been having very classic teething symptoms.

Except that the kid has all his teeth already. I mean I guess he could be getting the two year molars early and considering the rate at which he acquires teeth this is entirely possible. But the molar area isn’t swollen.

Still, he’s extra emo, has a clear runny nose, is drooling and chewing on everything and he has what I call the teething fire poo which causes a diaper rash. It’s like as soon as the stuff touches his skin it starts melting it off.

I have a few different brands of diaper rash cream, including some of the “natural” brands like Earth’s Best. I just hate diaper rash cream. Not only is it bad for causing buildup on cloth diapers, but I kind of have issues with touching it and getting it on my hands. I don’t like my hands to feel sticky or creamy or gooey or oily or any of that. It is an issue. When preparing a meal, I generally wash my hands 50 bajillion times because of my slight phobia/discomfort with my hands feeling this way.

So anyway, after receiving a Barnes & Noble gift card for Mother’s Day from my dad, we took a trip there and I scored this book for just $9 in the bargain section:

I was super excited because I’ve been really wanting a reference book on natural home remedies and homeopaths. I usually look stuff up online, but sometimes it takes a lot of searching and then I don’t always feel super confident about the information or wind up trying a whole bunch of different things.

Anyway, based on what I read about diaper rashes and skin conditions, I came up with a DIY diaper rash spray. From what I’ve read I also think it would probably be good for treating other skin conditions like eczema and minor wounds or scratches.

We got a bunch of chamomile in our CSA box and after reading and browsing through the book I was so geeked out on ideas for it other than sitting pretty in a vase on my counter.

Diaper rash spray

Pour one tea kettle full of boiling water over 1 bunch fresh chamomile in a bowl. Cover and allow to steep 20 min.

Strain the liquid into another bowl.

Add 1tbsp apple cider vinegar, 20-30 drops tea tree oil and 20-30 drops lavender oil and mix together thoroughly.

Put mixture into a spray bottle. Freeze any extra and defrost later when needed.

Spray/mist on rash area and allow to dry before putting on new diaper.

The liquid will keep 3-4 days in a dark cool place.

Anyway, after just one application, Sprout’s bum looks almost new. That’s a huge improvement because it was actually blistered and even bleeding in a few spots. I know TMI and ouch!

I also tried it on a paper cut that Bean got. Only thing is that with my spray bottle I feel like the dad from My Big Fat Greek Wedding. You know, “Put some Windex on it.” Haha!

Oh, and one more thing, I really loved this quote from the introduction of the book:

Until fairly recently, every family had a cornucopia of favorite home remedies–plants and household items that could be prepared to treat minor medical emergencies, or to prevent a common ailment becoming something much more serious. Most households had someone with a little understanding of home cures, and when knowledge fell short, or more serious illness took hold, the family physician or village healer would be called in for a consultation, and a treatment would be agreed upon. In those days we took personal responsibility for our health–we took steps to prevent illness and were more aware of our bodies and of changes in them. And when illness struck, we frequently had the personal means to remedy it. More often than not, the treatment could be found in the garden or the larder. In the middle of the twentieth century we began to change our outlook. The advent of modern medicine, together with its many miracles, also led to a much greater dependency on our physicians and to an increasingly stretched healthcare system. The growth of the pharmaceutical industry has meant that there are indeed “cures” for most symptoms, and we have become accustomed to putting our health in the hands of someone else, and to purchasing products that make us feel good. Somewhere along the line we began to believe that technology was in some way superior to what was natural, and so we willingly gave up control of even minor health problems.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Diaper rash spray

  1. Pingback: Episkey « Daylight Rising

Leave a Reply

