Cobbler

I’m not even sure this recipe is reproducible, but I am going to try my best to explain what I did and hopefully that will be enough for you to attempt it.

We had a barbecue potluck to attend for our community group and I had a bunch of random fruit from our CSA and the farmer’s market that I needed to use up. Cobbler just goes with summer and barbecues to me.

So at first I wasn’t sure whether to do a cobbler or a crisp, but I finally settled on cobbler because I wanted something more doughy and we’d had a crisp that someone made the week before.

I started looking up cobbler recipes and figured out that cobbler is basically just marinated fruit with biscuit dough on top baked in the oven.

Those that have read my blog for a bit know that the best biscuits ever are my friend Cara’s family recipe. So, hello, why would I even try any other biscuit dough recipe? Not happening.

You may also remember that some time after Cara posted her recipe, I adapted it into a scone recipe. I was thinking a sweetened biscuit might be better on top of the fruit in this case.

So here is what I did:

Fruit base:
-3 or 4 peaches or nectarines (I think I had 1 nectarine and 3 peaches), chopped
-1 Asian pear, peeled, cored and chopped
-1 small package blueberries
-4 or 5 large strawberries, chopped
-a couple handfuls of Rainier cherries, pitted and chopped

I don’t think it honestly matters what combination of fruit you use. Use what you have and what is in season. In all I had about 6-8 cups of chopped fruit.

I decided to chop all my fruit the day before mostly because it was close to being at its end and I wasn’t sure it would make it to the next day sitting out. Plus, Sundays I always seem to never have enough time and I was trying to get part of it done ahead of time.

After I chopped it, I mixed it with about 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 tsp TJs pumpkin pie spice (LOVE that stuff), and the juice of one grapefruit that we got a couple CSA boxes ago and also needed to be used. I covered it up and stuck it in the fridge overnight.

The next day I poured the fruit and all the juices out in a baking dish and sprinkled some whole wheat flour over the top (about 1 tbsp) then used a spoon to mix it in.

Next up was the biscuit topping. I decided to follow along more my scone ingredients than the original biscuit recipe ingredients so it would be sweeter.

So changes to the scone recipe were that I only used whole wheat flour (so two cups) because that’s all I had, I used 1/2 cup of sugar instead of a full cup, no dried fruit, and I was out of milk, but I did have some homemade apricot yogurt so I used that.

After working out the dough into the flakey layers I cut as you would for biscuits or scones and layered the cuts over the top of fruit in the baking dish, overlapping slightly.

I preheated my oven to 400 and the baked for 20 minutes.

Hello puffy flakey cobbler goodness.

1 Comment

Filed under Gourmet Lisa

One response to “Cobbler

  1. Looks so yummy! And I’m all for mixing up recipes…that’s how I do most of my cooking too!

Leave a Reply

