Full term

20110713-033119.jpg

I snapped this pic in the bathroom before church on Sunday. I haven’t really documented this pregnancy in pictures because some comments last go ’round with Sprout have had me feeling really, really self-conscious.

I mean, I know this is what pregnancy does to the body. I know that I am healthy. I know I won’t look like this forever. I know that most people only have nice things to say. I know I really haven’t gained much. I know that I am one of the few people that gets told to eat more during pregnancy and actually struggles with gaining weight. I know I am “all belly” and that if I really wanted to torture myself I could put on a pair of my pre-pregnancy jeans wearing them ultra low with no problems (discounting sitting down). I know all this sounds ridiculous and almost like I am bragging.

But really, all it takes is one negative and hurtful comment about the way you look to make none of the above matter. There is incredible power in words to build up and tear down. Often tearing down is much more easily accomplished.

So anyway we saw one of the midwives yesterday for my 36 week appointment. I have a home visit next week and the week after.

The baby’s heart rate was in the 140s, as usual. I am finally measuring right on and not two weeks ahead. I find this so weird because at my last appointment I lost weight and was measuring two weeks ahead, this time I gained weight and measured right on. Huh?

We discussed concerns about our household’s immune system right now. Stephen in particular has had some lingering congestion from a cold he and the kids got a few weeks ago, he tweaked his back over the weekend and he just kind of feels run down and stressed with work and the craziness at home lately. So my midwife writes him a prescription. Ha!

20110713-035135.jpg

She said, “In a homebirth, it isn’t just about mama and baby and how well they are doing. In a homebirth, the family is part of the system as a whole and that entire system needs to be well.” So we are on a mission to relieve Stephen’s stress and build up his immunity.

I was really determined to be patient this time. Just be prepared and ready for the fact that I am very likely to be overdue again and not have the baby until at least a week after my due date. So that would mean probably somewhere around the 16th of August and not the 9th. Then the 36 week mark was right there and my midwives had said that I would be allowed to go into labor as early as really late Monday night and suddenly I am SO not OK with the prospect of at least one more month of pregnancy.

Not impatient enough to chug castor oil or anything dumb like that, just tired and feeling done, done and done.

I still have the end of pregnancy itchies going on too. I have tried a ridiculous amount of stuff only to be mostly left wanting to rip my skin off. Homeopaths, lotions, OTC creams, etc.

I have finally found a couple things that at least cools and calms things down for a little bit.

One is not wearing the belly band from my maternity jeans up over my belly. Ever since all the crazy IV stuff during my pregnancy with Bean I have really struggled with skin irritation and sensitivity to various things. But only during pregnancy, it all seems to go back to normal after that. During pregnancy I am highly sensitive to medical tape. Getting my blood drawn or an IV during this period results in a rash around the area for days and sometimes it spreads to other parts of my body. So annoying. Yesterday one of the midwives thought that it is possible the stretchy material in the band on the maternity jeans could have latex or some other common skin irritant that I may be extra sensitive to since I am pregnant. So I am trying to keep it off my belly as much as possible and just keep most things off the irritated skin. This means I walk around the house a la Homer Simpson much of the time with Bean nagging me to, “Put your shirt down, Mama!”

I also made up a variation on my diaper rash spray after reading about rashes in my homeopathy book that I’ve been spraying on myself whenever I get the urge to scratch. It hasn’t made things look much better, but it does cool it down and seems to keep the itching at bay for a little bit.

20110713-040915.jpg

Truth be told, I used to hate marigolds. I just thought they were really ugly cheap flowers. I didn’t understand how anyone could like them or want to plant them. Now that I know a little more about natural gardening and homeopathy, it seems these things are a treasure trove of cures and remedies. I recently made up an insecticide using some of these flowers in my garden that has been working awesome at keeping the bugs from eating my plants. And there seems to be unending uses for them in skin care and wellness.

So anyway my rash spray? In a big tea cup steep a chamomile tea bag and 1-2 marigolds. Strain. Let the liquid cool. Add in a few drops of tea tree oil, lavender oil and sage oil. Pour into a little misting spray bottle. Shake before use and spray the rash area as needed.

Alright, enough pregnancy ramblings for today.

4 Comments

Filed under Family, Pregnancy and Birth

4 responses to “Full term

  1. bandofbrothers

    i love your pregnancy ramblings:) awesome that Stephen got a prescription! Makes sense though…if John is out, I am pretty much done for!

  2. Barbie

    End of pregnancy is no fun, but that babe will be here soon! 🙂 I know that I when I had some intense itching during the later stages of pregnancy they did liver panels to make sure everything was okay-could be some scary stuff. I’m sure you’ve researched all the possibilities, just thought I’d mention it.

  3. oh Lisa, you look adorable!! I’m so glad you posted a picture of yourself, because I’ve been dying to see you. 🙂
    Whether it’s one month, or a week, you are getting SO CLOSE! eeep! I hope it’s sooner rather than later for your sake, because I know how those last weeks can just draaaag by.
    Hang in there, friend! and I hope all your family is well in time for the arrival! 🙂

  4. Auntie Linda

    I love your pregnancy ramblings too! And you are beautiful – from what I’ve heard, no one feels lovely at 8 mos. pregnant, but that doesn’t mean everyone else sees you as you see yourself, you know. re: Sprout sleeping post – I was delighted to see he chose the bear to sleep with!
    re: Baby prediction post – I wouldn’t even try to predict, and furthermore, it doesn’t matter to me. You and S. make great kids – if there were a third gender, that’s what I’d want you to have! I was a bit surprised though – all this time I thought you and S. probably knew Baby’s gender and just weren’t sharing – and that w/b your choice of course. Reading the post, I now believe you really don’t know.
    You’re in my thoughts and prayers – Much love to all and thanks for the joy you bring to my life.

Leave a Reply

