Apple pancakes

20110831-095218.jpg

I was trying to make this apple stuffed pancake recipe that was described on a couple different blogs I found, but when the technique proved too difficult for me, I decided to go another direction.

These are kind of a cross between traditional pancakes and hash browns. I don’t really have a recipe for them to share, but I can describe what I did.

I started out with a basic pancake batter recipe. In my case, I used Jamie Oliver’s one cup pancakes. Then I added grated apples, rolled oats, very thinly sliced almonds and sunflower seeds until the batter was just holding everything together. I spooned it out on the heated pan prepared with butter and flattened with the back of the spoon into a pancake shape. Once browned on one side I flipped it and browned the other side.

They’re pretty hearty with some crunch and lots of texture.

20110831-095311.jpg

Edited to add: I guess I was in a bit of a rush to share this recipe. I’ve made these enough times now that I’ve perfected the ingredient amounts. Hope this helps and is a little more specific than my vague instructions above.

-1 cup flour (I am currently using a multigrain mix of whole wheat and leftovers from our gluten-free days, use whatever you have)
-1 tsp baking powder
-1/2 tsp baking soda
-1 egg
-3/4 cup milk
-2 tbsp maple syrup
-couple dashes of cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice (optional)
-1 or 2 (depends on the size) firm apples or Asian pears
-1/4 cup sunflower seeds
-1/4 cup thinly sliced almonds

Leave a comment

Filed under Gourmet Lisa

Leave a Reply

