Fig and prosciutto three cheese pizza

If you are feeling a little adventurous, I highly recommend this pizza. It might seem a little bit of a strange combination, but it is totally delicious.

My inspiration actually came from a conversation I heard between two checkers at Whole Foods the other day. One said someone checked out in his line with a fig pizza and he thought it was weird. At first I did too.

Then I couldn’t get the idea out of my head. So I started trying to think of what a fig pizza would likely have on it and what tastes good with figs.

When I think of figs I think of fancy cheese platters and prosciutto. So I built on that for my pizza.

Ingredients:
-prosciutto
-grated asiago cheese
-grated Parmesan cheese
-marinated mozzarella, sliced
-figs, sliced
-favorite pizza dough
-favorite pizza base (I actually used some tomato soup because I just made it the night before and couldn’t find pizza sauce at the grocery store, an olive oil garlic herb rub would also be good I think)

20110921-015209.jpg

Shape dough, apply base. Place sliced mozzarella over surface of dough. Next, layer fig slices and shreds of prosciutto. Sprinkle grated cheeses over the top. Bake as you would a typical pizza or according to your dough’s instructions.

20110921-015238.jpg

Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Gourmet Lisa

Leave a Reply

