United Steak of America Burger

During all three of my pregnancies, there were periods that I both could not cook and became slightly obsessed with the United Steak of America sandwich from Tacone.

And I knew it was probably bad for me. I knew that the food sources were likely questionable.

I just wanted this steak sandwich anyway. And the sweet potato fries.

Well last night I decided to try and create a burger version of this sandwich so I could get my occasional fix without (as much of) the guilt.

20120106-135019.jpg

United Steak of America Burger

Ingredients
-1lb lean ground beef (preferably grass fed which I just discovered yesterday you can now find at Trader Joes!)
-paprika
-garlic powder
-sprig of fresh rosemary, leaves removed and finely chopped
-1/4 cup bread crumbs
-1 egg (preferably pastured)
-red onion thinly sliced
-lettuce
-Monterey Jack and Cheddar cheese, shredded
-hot sauce (I used Chalula)
-sour dough bread
-barbecue sauce (optional)

In your stand mixer using paddle attachment combine beef, a dash of paprika, dash of garlic powder, rosemary, bread crumbs, egg, and a couple dashes of hot sauce. You can also do this by hand, but it always makes my hands get really cold.

Separate the beef into fourths and then form into patties. Grill on a preheated grill. Midway through grilling, add onions to grill and sourdough with cheese in the middle like a grilled cheese sandwich. Remove everything from grill.

Assemble burgers and dress with barbecue sauce if desired. The actual sandwich has “rosemary chipotle mayo”.

Sweet Potato Fries
-1 large sweet potato
-cinnamon
-sea salt
-high heat oil

Preheat oven to 450.

Peel and slice sweet potato into fries. Place in bowl with dash or two of cinnamon, salt to taste and drizzle with oil. Toss until evenly coated.

Place on parchment lined cookie sheet and roast until crispy.

Note: I prepped my fries and placed them in the oven first. Then broke up some sibling squabbles, prepped and grilled the burgers, brought them inside and assembled them, then took the fries out of the oven. They were done at this point, but I would have preferred them to be slightly more crispy.

Sparrow, on the other hand, liked them not as crispy and stole one out of my hand midway to my mouth and then more. He was going crazy for them. So I guess we’re doing solids now!

20120106-135118.jpg

Leave a comment

Filed under Gourmet Lisa

Leave a Reply

