Practice makes perfect

20120131-082115.jpg

So yesterday Sparrow figured out how to make a “bbbbwah” sound and he’s been very proud of himself over this fact.

It was kind of a dramatic night around here. In the span of an hour Sprout went from a bit congested to listless, throwing up and then Stephen rushed him off to Urgent Care. In that same time period, my refrigerator door stopped shutting completely and Bean started coughing a lot too and she had some stomach problems of her own, but not as severe. Sparrow became irritated because he wanted to be held so he could show off his “bwah” right in my face.

Stephen got back from Urgent Care and Sprout just has a bad virus that just needs to be waited out. He temporarily fixed the fridge, but I need to call a repair man today. Sprout and Bean coughed all night long.

And then Mr. Bwah decides 4:30am is a good time to start practicing his “bwah” sound again. By 5:30am he is pretty angry about the fact that he does not have an audience for this wondrous new trick of his. I walk down the hall pick him up expecting that he’s hungry and, no, he is not interested in that. He just wants to say “bwah… bwah… bwah” right next to my face.

Being a parent is hard. I miss my sleep. And I would like a quarantine bubble from this germ factory I am in.

But being a parent teaches me a lot about who I am. How selfish I am and my (in)capacity to love. How I need to grow. Become more humble. More of a servant. Care for others. Stop thinking about myself and putting myself first all the time.

3 Comments

Filed under Family, Parenting

3 responses to “Practice makes perfect

  1. bandofbrothers

    you have to admit it’s quite hilarious that sparrow just wanted to say bwah bwah in your face at 4:30 a.m. Granted, I’m not the one being waken up but still it’s pretty funny!

  2. Lisa Wuertz

    I was deliriously laughing when it was happening. He is the silliest little guy!

  3. Auntie Linda

    You’re not selfish – human, maybe…beyond that, I don’t know how you do it, but thanks for doing it – they are awesome kids!

Leave a Reply

