Potato and corn taquitos

A couple of weeks ago while I was waiting outside of Bean’s ballet class, one of the receptionists was complaining about how she had ordered the potato taquitos from a nearby Mexican restaurant and they gave her chicken instead. Apparently the restaurant is pretty famous for these potato taquitos at the ballet studio because all the teachers that were at the desk, the other receptionist, and a few of the older students that were hanging around lamented with her over not getting potato taquitos in her order and went on and on about how great they were.

I didn’t think too much about it, but then potato taquitos kept coming up in random conversations or on Facebook. I guess this is a new food trend, maybe?

We’ve significantly increased the number of meatless meals around here and I’ve been on the lookout for yummy veggie recipes to try out (if you have really excellent favorites please pass them along, bonus if they are kid-friendly). Potato taquitos seemed worth a try. I went to the cookbook of Google and then did what I always do after reading a few recipes and decided to wing it.

I thought they were pretty yummy, but too spicy and I felt a few adjustments should have been made that I noted below (growing up my mom always used like half the recommended amount of the mild taco seasoning when she made Americanized ground beef tacos, if that gives you any indication of my spicy tolerance level). I cut one taquito in half for the kids and they each ate half of that before deciding it was too spicy and opting for leftover pizza instead. I think if they had not been as spicy my kids would have gobbled them up no problem.

Ingredients
-1 lb of potatoes diced
-1/2 tsp taco seasoning (I actually used 1tsp of TJs taco season and had forgotten how spicy that stuff is, this is my adjustment)
-2 cups corn (I had grilled some the other night and had it leftover, frozen kernels that have been thawed would work too)
-1/2lb cheddar cheese, grated
-1 pkg corn tortillas (mine were actually corn & wheat)
-guacamole
-sour cream or yogurt

Directions
-Fry potatoes and taco seasoning until potatoes are tender (I covered mine to make them cook faster, but then the steam plus the spicy TJs taco seasoning sort of misted my whole kitchen when I took the lid off. I joked to Stephen that my kitchen had been pepper sprayed. This kids and I were coughing and crying miserably afterwards. I do not recommend it!).
20120613-173336.jpg
-Combine the potatoes, corn and cheese and mash/mix.
-begin warming your tortillas to make them more malleable and easier to work with. You don’t want them crispy, just warmed through.
20120613-173705.jpg
-Spread a spoonful or two of your potato mixture on a little over half of each tortilla.
20120613-173833.jpg
-Roll them up and place seam side down on a parchment lined cookie sheet.
-Bake in a 400* oven for about 20 minutes or until crispy.
-Serve with sour cream/yogurt and guacamole for dipping.
20120613-174116.jpg

Leave a comment

Filed under Gourmet Lisa

Leave a Reply

