Insects!

I decided to take a little break from our literature curriculum and follow my kids’ interest in bugs this week. So we have been exploring insects.

Monday we went to the InsectLore Bugseum out in Shafter, which is cool if you go in knowing that it is more store than museum. There are a few museum-type stations, but it is mostly a store. We bought a butterfly bungalo and some caterpillars.

This past weekend I knew ahead of time that I was planning to do this little insect unit and browsed some books at the bookstore. I had the intention of buying the DK Eyewitness Encyclopedia Insect and Butterfly and Moth books. I even had them in my Amazon cart earlier in the week. At the bookstore, I came seriously close to getting the Butterfly Sticker Book by DK because Sprout is seriously obsessed with stickers and I knew he’d love to put them all on the right places. Ultimately, I just decided that yes, the DK books are beautiful and full of lots of great photographs, but kind of an information dump/overload, especially for a bunch of preschoolers.

I did find a whole series of science books that present the information more in a storyline format that they can grasp a little more easily. They are the Let’s Read and Find Out Science series. The butterfly one wasn’t really much different in informational content than the beloved Eric Carle’s The Very Hungry Caterpillar and so I decided not to get it (I probably would have, but Stephen was making me narrow down my choices). I did get the Bugs are Insects one though. I just love the Eric Carle style artwork in it and how it weaves great science information in a readable format.

Bean is already going around saying, “Spiders aren’t bugs, they’re arachnids.”

The butterfly book I did decide to get is A Butterfly is Patient by Dianna Hutts Aston and illustrated by Sylvia Long. It is so full of beautiful illustrations of all kinds of butterflies with lots of great information on them too. As with the series I discovered, however, it presents all of this information in a storyline format instead of just bombarding them with tons of facts in unconnected blips.

We did read the aforementioned caterpillar story as well and made some egg carton caterpillars to look like the one in the book.

We dressed up in our various bug costumes and pretended to be bugs, danced to Flight of the Bumblebee and The Ants Go Marching, and sang The Itsy Bitsy Spider and There’s a Spider on the Floor.

The rest of the week we’ll probably do more of the same with a nature walk, a bug hunt, and a fingerprints to bugs art project I found online.

1 Comment

Filed under Family, Homeschooling, Kiddos, Parenting

One response to “Insects!

  1. Love that Avory is in on the action too! So cute guys!

Leave a Reply

