Nadia’s Greek Salad

20120807-201326.jpg

Nadia is my new Greek friend. My from Greece, Greek friend with the most awesome accent ever. And the food she makes. Oh my gosh you guys. It’s insane.

She made this salad the first night I met her. She kept loading my plate up with it. “I don’t take ‘no’ for an answer,” she said. Then she proceeded to make me a to-go plate for later.

Someone was brave enough to ask her for her recipes. Someone else chided that she’d never reveal her secrets. Nadia said, “You just take your vegetables and your parsley, the pita and some lemon juice and you mix it all together.”

So that’s pretty much what I did because I haven’t been able to stop thinking about it ever since and I had to have it again.

Nadia’s Greek Salad
-1 whole wheat pita, toasted and chopped into bite-sized pieces
-1 bell pepper, chopped
-1 heart of Romaine, chopped
-1 handful spinach, chopped
-1 small sweet onion, thinly sliced
-1 small package cherry tomatoes, cut in half
-1 heaping handful finely chopped parsley
-1 package Persian cucumbers, chopped (I got these at Trader Joes, there were 5-6 in the package)
-juice of 1-2 lemons
-a couple glugs of olive oil
-salt to taste

In a bowl, toss vegetables, parsley, and pita with lemon juice, olive oil and salt. Allow salad to sit and marinate together for a few minutes so all the flavors meld.

Nadia’s salad pretty much used parsley in place of the lettuce and spinach. I decided to make my version not quite as strongly flavored. I added a small handful of Trader Joe’s Quatro Formaggio shredded cheese. A more authentic Greek salad would probably have Feta. Nadia’s salad did not have any. I think her salad may not have had olive oil either. I am not completely sure though.

20120807-201252.jpg

Leave a comment

Filed under Gourmet Lisa

Leave a Reply

