Super easy bacon pasta

I love bacon. But it has to be cooked enough. I hated it it for awhile because wiggly bacon was all I had ever known. It shouldn’t be overcooked and black though either. Bacon is probably why I’ll never go back to being a full-time vegetarian. That and I am anti-soy.

Anyway, we all have busy nights when we are rushing around and it seems like running out to eat would be faster and easier than making a home-cooked meal. And then we find ourselves wrangling crazy kids in a restaurant or waiting in a long line with them. Everyone, including me, is whining and grouchy and tired for lack of food in a timely manner.

Well, in the time it would take you to drive to the restaurant, wait in line, pay too much for sub-par food laden with who-knows-what, you could make this.

Super Easy Bacon Pasta

Ingedients
-Bacon, cooked and chopped (The amount is dependent on how much you like bacon. I have made this with as little as three slices because that was all we had left after a morning breakfast, last night I used half a package of the pre-cooked bacon from TJs because that is what I got when I sent Stephen to the store)
-Frozen petite cut veggies of your choice (I often make this with peas, but last night I used 1/4 of a package of TJs “Organic Foursome” which is peas, carrots, corn and green beans)
-1/2 package Farfalle (bow tie) pasta
-a heaping tablespoon of sour cream
-a few handfuls of shredded Italian cheese (I like TJs Quatro Formaggio)

1. Cook pasta according to package directions. During the last couple minutes of cooking toss your frozen veggies in there.

2. Remove from heat (and turn the heat off), drain. Return pasta and veggies to the pot which should still be pretty hot.

3. Add in remaining ingredients and stir until well combined.

Makes enough for our little family of five, probably 3-4 adult servings.

20120907-072418.jpg

4 Comments

Filed under Gourmet Lisa

4 responses to “Super easy bacon pasta

  1. luedeker

    Honey, use a big skillet to cook bacon. Lay pieces flat. Then cook very, very slowly….it will be the best crunchy bacon you have ever eaten. That is the only thing that I cook really well…LOL. Your recipe sounds good. Love, Aunt Mary

  2. Lisa Wuertz

    Thanks for the tip Aunt Mary! I usually bake it on a broiler-type pan that lets it drain a bit as it cooks. It usually comes out just how I like it. 🙂

  3. bandofbrothers

    i don’t like soy either.

    that looks soooo goooood!

  4. Auntie Linda

    Sounds luscious – and very similar to a pasta I order at a restaurant near my office. I like the “organic foursome” addition too!

Leave a Reply

