Curry Vegetable Stew

20120915-175905.jpg

I never thought I’d like curry. My only experiences had been the pungent smells coming from our neighbors houses as kids and a couple attempts at Indian restaurants that left my sinuses and digestive tract on fire. Then at the urging of Stephen (after he had been out to Indian food a few times with guys at work and loved it), I tried a few Jamie Oliver recipes and took down the amounts significantly (1/2 or less what is called for) and it became an enjoyable experience. Now we have curry a few times a month.

My sister asked me to write up this super easy curry vegetable stew I made the other night. Just for you, P.

Ingredients
-thumb sized piece of ginger, finely chopped
-2 cloves garlic, finely chopped or pressed
-1 onion, chopped
-1 large sweet potato, chopped
-1 can garbanzo beans, drained
-1 can diced tomatoes (or half a large mason jar if you can your own)
-1 of those large aseptic containers of vegetable broth
-1/2 can coconut milk
-a few handfuls of baby greens (I used a mix of spinach, chard and kale)
-1/2 to 1 cup dry rice (I used 1/2, but next time I think I will use a full cup)
-1 tsp curry powder (we like ours pretty mild, more or less to suit your taste)
-salt and pepper to taste
-other veggies, if you desire (green beans, carrots, celery, and cauliflower would all be great additions)

Combine all ingredients in a pot except greens and simmer until sweet potatoes are tender. Stir in the greens the last couple minutes of cooking. Serve and enjoy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Gourmet Lisa

Leave a Reply

