Why I think “girl” Legos/Duplos are awesome

When Lego announced they were coming out with “girl” Legos & Duplos, part of which was in partnership with the Disney Princess branding, there was a lot of backlash from parents. I was still on Facebook at the time and I remember my newsfeed full of blog posts and opinion columns on why this was such a horrible, sexist thing that further enforced the lines between girls and boys. Lines, they say, should be more and more blurred to promote equality of the sexes.

This vintage (if one can really call 1981 vintage) Lego ad made the rounds quite a bit:

20121013-082835.jpg

While I can kind of see the point, at the same time I also think, “Well, what about the girls that just really like pink and princesses and ‘girly’ things?”

Jilly might play Duplos occasionally, but mainly it was her brother that liked to build things with them. She preferred to play with her dolls, read books, color or practice her ballet moves. None of those are “bad” things, mind you. I just noticed sort of a division of interests developing in my kids on their own.

And then she decided to spend her birthday cash and some cash she had earned for doing things around here on two Disney Princess Duplo sets. First she bought Snow White’s cottage and a few days ago she bought the Aurora set. She has played Duplos every day since, a little over two weeks. She doesn’t limit herself to the confines of setting up things just the way they are on the box, either.

20121013-084155.jpg

20121013-084257.jpg

20121013-084332.jpg

20121013-084357.jpg

If Disney Princess girly Duplos get her to expand her interests a little and find new ways to express her creativity, so be it. That’s why I think they are awesome.

4 Comments

Filed under Family, Kiddos, Parenting

4 responses to “Why I think “girl” Legos/Duplos are awesome

  1. Liz

    I totally agree. I think that these are great for boys too, if they like certain Disney movies. For instance, my boys love the Tinkerbell movies so they play a lot of Tinkerbell stuff. It broadens their world. There is nothing wrong with girly duplos/legos especially for girls. 🙂

  2. Lisa Wuertz

    My boy loves Tinkerbell too! 🙂

  3. bandofbrothers

    i think they are adorable!

  4. Auntie Linda

    It’s been awhile since I’ve visited here – thanks for the updates, scary hiking story (!), and the kid pics…priceless!!

Leave a Reply

