Gluten Free Orange Rosemary Drop Scones

Remember that time two years ago when I started a different blog documenting our explorations into the Orthodox Church? Well, that’s still happening. It’s been a winding, up and down, stop and start journey. I’m no theologian and I’ve bumbled and fumbled quite a bit along the way, but the journey continues.

Yesterday, we spent some time picking oranges and lemons in my in-laws backyard while we were there splitting up our Abundant Harvest produce box. This picture perfectly depicts Ethan’s intensity and enthusiasm in the endeavor:

20121216-142847.jpg

Even though baking and I have a bad relationship (I swear, something always goes completely wrong even when I do everything completely right), I decided I wanted to try to make some yummy scones for coffee hour (the social gathering in the church hall immediately following Divine Liturgy each Sunday). We got a ton of rosemary in our box and I already had some that was used in our house blessing Thursday night. My first instinct was to make cheddar rosemary ones, but it’s a fasting season in the church right now and so that wouldn’t work. I don’t know how orange and rosemary went together in my brain, but it seemed a good combination. I Googled “orange rosemary scones” and quickly found this recipe from Food & Wine. I adapted it to be fasting friendly (vegan) and gluten-free. They were a big hit and gone in minutes.

Here is my version:

Gluten Free Orange Rosemary Drop Scones

Ingredients:
-2 cups Pamela’s biscuit and scone mix
-1/4 cup sugar
-1 Tbsp baking powder
-pinch of salt
-zest of one softball size navel orange
-juice of one softball size navel orange
-3 Tbsp solidified coconut oil (this happens naturally in my house this time of year, you may need to refrigerate yours to get the same effect)
-2 tsp minced rosemary leaves
-1 Tbsp TJs raw organic honey (this stuff is much thicker than other honey I have purchased in the past, the consistency of butter)

Preheat oven to 375.

In a bowl combine flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, orange zest, rosemary and honey with a pastry cutter until mixture is crumbly.

Stir in orange juice until just combined, do not over mix.

Spoon heaping tablespoonfuls onto a parchment lined baking sheet as you would cookies or drop biscuits/scones.

Bake for 10 minutes until just golden on the top and edges. Remove from oven and move scones to a cooling rack. Serve.

20121216-145736.jpg

1 Comment

Filed under Faith, Family, Gourmet Lisa

One response to “Gluten Free Orange Rosemary Drop Scones

  1. These look really good. I might make them for Christmas. My sister just turned vegan in the past few months and I know my mom doesn’t have a lot of ideas to make for her yet. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

