The Lenten Spring

One of the things that has drawn me to Orthodoxy is the celebration of seasons. While we are somewhat forced to embrace seasonal weather, I think more often than not the concept of seasons gets lost in a culture that has Target stores stocked full of bikinis in January.

We just wrapped up our first week of Lent in the Orthodox Church which is perhaps mind boggling for all of you in the Western Church now entering into the last week of your Lenten season. An explanation of why our Easter (Pascha) is later, can be found here.

I have had St. Valentine’s and St. Patrick’s Day decorations for quite some time now, but my Gerber Daisy spring wreath was adopted some years ago by a nesting bird and subsequently infested with bird mites. I was so busy having babies and feeding them these past few years that I really didn’t decorate much so it has never been replaced.

I’ve been following Morgan’s blog for several years now (we have a few IRL friends between us) and never really thought I would have need for one of her felt flower or wreath tutorials because knitting and sewing are more my thing. When one decides to become Orthodox and all the Spring wreaths are pastels, bunnies and such, however, something custom is needed. So I finally put those tutorials to good use. My inspiration originally came from some purple felt flowers I was helping my sister make for a practice wedding bouquet:

20130325-215034.jpg

Way fancier than the paper plate and curling ribbon job I had 10 years ago. Pinterest has definitely taken things up a notch.

During our first week of Lent the vestments and banners in the church were purple and black so I decided to make a wreath with those colors that we could use for Lent this year and in the Lenten seasons of years to come. I made a mini bunting (with plans to make a larger version for our mantel) for the wreath by embroidering a golden cross on some felt and printing out the Resurrection Icon on iron-on t-shirt transfer paper and applying it to some felt.

20130325-220446.jpg

20130325-220549.jpg

I really love it! The relaxing, repetitive work of the wrapping and the flower-making was exactly what I needed during our first intense week of Lent.

We kicked off week two of Lent today with the Annunciation.

The Feast of the Annunciation of Our Most Holy Lady, the Theotokos and Ever-Virgin Mary is celebrated on March 25 each year. The Feast commemorates the announcement by the Archangel Gabriel to the Virgin Mary that our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ, the Son of God, would become incarnate and enter into this world through her womb (Source: goarch.org)

A friend of mine from church clued me in ahead of time that traditionally children place white lilies, a symbol of purity and virginity, in front of the icon of the Theotokos at the Divine Liturgy service. So, I bought some Easter lilies yesterday and found some plastic vases (so Father doesn’t accidentally kick or trip over and break one). The kids really loved having a special roll in the service and were so excited about their lilies. E kept singing one of the hymns we sing about the Theotokos too. H has recently started saying, “Tokos” and pointing at her icons and he was saying it and pointing at the flowers too.

20130325-221701.jpg

After services a few of us got together at one of our favorite parks to exchange flowers for making a “Garden of the Theotokos” that one of my friends got from a blog she saw, I think. In Medieval times, “Mary Gardens” were very popular. These enclosed gardens were filled with flowers, herbs and trees and were inviting places of beauty which encouraged contemplation and prayer.

Before the rise of Christendom, many flowers were associated with pagan deities — Diana, Juno, Venus, etc. — but when the “Age of Faith” ascended and superceded the pagan, these flowers were “christened” and re-dedicated to Christian themes. So many flowers were named for Jesus, Mary, the angels, holy places, etc. (Source: fisheaters.com)

My friend was able to find a list of flowers and herbs with their Medieval Christian names here. Of course the kids enjoyed the park day too.

20130325-222936.jpg

20130325-223031.jpg

20130325-223108.jpg

20130325-235734.jpg

20130325-224006.jpg

20130325-224053.jpg

20130325-224140.jpg

The boys fell asleep on our way home from the park so J and I finished things out by planting our Garden of the Theotokos while they napped.

20130325-224338.jpg

20130325-224449.jpg

20130325-224538.jpg

3 Comments

Filed under Craftopia, Faith, Family, Kiddos

3 responses to “The Lenten Spring

  1. Are you saying that there is something wrong with having bathingsuits in Target in January?!?!? That is my salvation from the cruel winter. . .summer is coming! Ha! And, now I’m off to find you on pinterest and look into the whole ‘Mary Garden’. Never heard of that one!

  2. Lisa Wuertz

    Embrace the seasons Heather! 😉

    Googling “Mary Gardens,” will probably be faster than Pinterest.

  3. Ha! Ha! I didn’t mean I was going to look for that on Pinterest (I meant I was going to look for you on pinterest and also look into the Mary garden), but thanks for pinning some stuff! I had a conversation with my Priest in CO once about the shift from an ‘agrarian’ lifestyle to an ‘industrial’ one. He remembers when the little villages in Greece would all plant basil in May in order to harvest in September for the feast of the elevation of the Cross. Actually, I’m sure some of the small villages still do that. But we modern suburbanites don’t think about that thing- at least, in the communal sense! The links between the natural world and the Orthodox faith are many. . .thanks for another one!

Leave a Reply

